2027 Toyota C-HR: 5 Key Facts Buyers Need to Know

The 2027 Toyota C-HR is taking a notably conservative approach to its second year in Toyota’s all-electric lineup. Rather than receiving a major redesign or a significant mechanical overhaul, the compact electric SUV carries forward much of the same formula, including its dual-motor powertrain, standard all-wheel drive, 74.7-kWh battery and two-trim lineup. That may sound…

19 minutes

Read Time

The 2027 Toyota C-HR is taking a notably conservative approach to its second year in Toyota’s all-electric lineup. Rather than receiving a major redesign or a significant mechanical overhaul, the compact electric SUV carries forward much of the same formula, including its dual-motor powertrain, standard all-wheel drive, 74.7-kWh battery and two-trim lineup.

That may sound unexciting at first, but for shoppers considering a compact EV, consistency can be valuable. The C-HR combines 338 horsepower with standard AWD, a 14-inch infotainment screen and a long list of standard comfort and safety features. It is scheduled to arrive at U.S. dealerships in September, giving buyers another option as Toyota continues expanding its electric-vehicle portfolio.

The bigger question is whether the C-HR’s familiar formula makes sense against closely related alternatives. The Subaru Uncharted, for example, uses the same basic platform and much of the same electric hardware while starting at a lower price. That makes the choice more complicated than simply deciding whether the Toyota is a good EV.

Here are five key facts buyers should know before putting the 2027 Toyota C-HR on their shopping list.

1. The 2027 Toyota C-HR Is Carrying Over Most of Its Formula

The first thing buyers need to understand is that the 2027 Toyota C-HR is not a ground-up new model. Toyota is largely carrying over the vehicle from the previous model year, making only minimal pricing adjustments while retaining the same core specifications and equipment.

That means shoppers should not approach the 2027 model expecting a dramatically different powertrain, battery or trim strategy. Toyota continues to offer the electric C-HR in two versions: SE and XSE.

Both trims use the same basic electric powertrain. A dual-motor setup produces a substantial 338 horsepower, and all-wheel drive is standard across the range.

For buyers living in regions where rain, snow or icy roads are common, standard AWD is one of the C-HR’s most important selling points. Toyota is not forcing customers to move to an expensive upper trim simply to gain all-wheel drive.

What stays the same for 2027?

  • Two trim levels: SE and XSE
  • Dual-motor electric powertrain
  • 338 horsepower
  • Standard all-wheel drive
  • 74.7-kWh battery pack
  • 0-to-60-mph acceleration in 4.9 seconds
  • DC fast charging from 10% to 80% in about 30 minutes under ideal conditions

In other words, Toyota appears to be treating the 2027 model year as an evolution rather than a reinvention. That could appeal to buyers who prefer a known configuration instead of waiting for first-year changes to settle.

Why the carryover matters to buyers

A carryover model is not automatically a disadvantage. In some cases, it can make a vehicle easier to evaluate because the basic specifications are already established.

For the C-HR, the biggest advantage is that buyers can focus on the questions that actually matter: whether the range meets their driving needs, whether the price fits their budget, and whether standard AWD is worth the premium compared with related alternatives.

The lack of major changes also means that shoppers interested in a 2027 C-HR should pay close attention to actual pricing and incentives rather than assuming the newer model year automatically represents a major upgrade.

2. Performance Is One of the C-HR’s Strongest Selling Points

Although the 2027 Toyota C-HR is positioned as a compact electric SUV, its performance numbers give it a considerably more energetic character than the word “compact” might suggest.

The dual-motor system generates 338 horsepower, while Toyota says the SUV can accelerate from zero to 60 mph in just 4.9 seconds.

That quick acceleration is important because EV buyers increasingly expect electric vehicles to deliver instant torque and strong off-the-line performance. The C-HR does not appear to rely solely on efficiency and practicality to make its case.

Standard AWD changes the equation

All-wheel drive is standard on every 2027 Toyota C-HR. This is a meaningful distinction in a segment where some competitors use front-wheel drive on their entry-level versions to achieve a lower advertised starting price.

For a buyer who regularly drives in snow, wet conditions or on poorly maintained roads, AWD can be more than a marketing feature. It provides additional traction by allowing the vehicle’s electric motors to distribute power between the front and rear axles.

It also gives Toyota a straightforward sales message: customers do not have to climb the trim ladder to get the drivetrain configuration they want.

Is the C-HR a performance SUV?

Not exactly. The 4.9-second acceleration figure is impressive, but the C-HR remains a compact crossover designed to balance everyday usability with performance.

Its appeal is therefore broader than that of a dedicated performance EV. A buyer could use the vehicle for commuting during the week while still having enough acceleration for highway merging or passing.

This combination could be particularly attractive to shoppers who want their first EV to feel responsive without moving into a much larger or more expensive electric SUV.

3. The 74.7-kWh Battery and Charging Setup Matter More Than Horsepower

Horsepower and acceleration may grab attention, but battery capacity and charging behavior are arguably more important for people buying an EV for everyday use.

The 2027 Toyota C-HR continues with a 74.7-kWh battery pack. Toyota says DC fast charging can replenish the battery from 10% to 80% in approximately 30 minutes under ideal conditions.

That charging figure is useful for road trips because it gives drivers a way to add a significant amount of energy during a relatively short stop. However, buyers should understand the phrase “under ideal conditions.”

Actual charging times can vary depending on factors such as battery temperature, charger capability, charging-station conditions and the vehicle’s state of charge.

Why 10% to 80% is the important range

EV charging is not linear from empty to full. Charging speeds typically change as the battery becomes more highly charged. As a result, automakers often quote fast-charging performance using a range such as 10% to 80% rather than 0% to 100%.

For everyday road-trip planning, this is actually a more useful measurement. A driver usually does not need to wait for a battery to reach 100% during a highway stop. Adding enough energy to continue the journey can be more efficient than chasing a full charge.

NACS charging is standard

Another important detail for American EV buyers is that the 2027 Toyota C-HR includes NACS charging as standard.

That is significant because charging-port compatibility has become an increasingly important consideration when Americans compare electric vehicles. Buyers want confidence that their vehicle can fit naturally into the expanding charging ecosystem without having to treat connector compatibility as a separate purchasing decision.

The C-HR also supports wireless Apple CarPlay and wireless Android Auto, helping connect the charging and infotainment experience with familiar smartphone ecosystems.

4. The SE and XSE Trims Give Buyers a Clear Choice

Toyota keeps the 2027 C-HR lineup relatively simple. Instead of creating a long list of trim levels, the automaker offers the SE and XSE.

That can make the purchasing process easier because buyers primarily need to decide whether the additional equipment offered by the XSE justifies stepping up from the SE.

2027 Toyota C-HR SE

The SE is the entry point, but it does not appear to be stripped down. Toyota equips the base C-HR with a substantial collection of comfort, convenience, technology and safety features.

Standard SE equipment includes:

  • 18-inch wheels
  • Heated front seats
  • Heated steering wheel
  • Power liftgate
  • Rain-sensing windshield wipers
  • Toyota Safety Sense 3.0
  • Dual wireless phone chargers
  • Four USB-C ports
  • 14-inch touchscreen
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay
  • Wireless Android Auto
  • Standard NACS charging

For buyers who care about value, this equipment list is important. The SE gives shoppers access to the same fundamental electric powertrain as the XSE while maintaining a lower entry point.

2027 Toyota C-HR XSE

The XSE takes the same basic vehicle and adds more premium equipment.

Key XSE upgrades include:

  • 20-inch wheels
  • SofTex and suede-like seating surfaces
  • Power-adjustable front passenger seat
  • Driver memory settings
  • Traffic Jam Assist
  • Lane Change Assist
  • Panoramic View Monitor

The XSE is therefore aimed at buyers who want a more upscale cabin and additional driver-assistance technology rather than simply more power.

Which C-HR trim makes the most sense?

For a value-focused buyer, the SE is likely the logical starting point because the fundamental performance package is already included. You get the dual-motor setup, 338 horsepower and AWD without needing to select the higher trim.

The XSE makes more sense for shoppers who prioritize interior upgrades, larger wheels, additional driver assistance and convenience features.

In practical terms, the decision comes down to whether you want the C-HR primarily as a performance-oriented compact EV or as a more premium everyday crossover.

5. The Subaru Uncharted Creates the Biggest Value Question

Perhaps the most interesting part of the 2027 Toyota C-HR story is not another Toyota model. It is the closely related Subaru Uncharted.

The two vehicles share a platform and much of their electric powertrain architecture, making the Subaru a natural alternative for shoppers considering the Toyota.

But Subaru has positioned the Uncharted with a lower starting price.

Subaru Uncharted pricing

  • Premium FWD: $34,995
  • Sport: $39,795
  • GT: $43,795

Subaru also kept its pricing unchanged for the 2027 model year after introducing the Uncharted in early 2026.

According to the research, the base Subaru costs about $2,085 less than the entry-level Toyota C-HR. That is enough of a difference to matter to budget-conscious EV shoppers.

Why the cheaper Subaru is not necessarily the better choice

The price difference needs context.

The entry-level Uncharted uses front-wheel drive, while the Toyota C-HR includes all-wheel drive across its entire lineup. For shoppers who specifically want AWD, comparing the Toyota’s standard configuration with the Subaru’s base model can be misleading.

The Subaru’s lower entry price is therefore most attractive to customers who are comfortable with FWD. Buyers who consider AWD essential should compare similarly equipped versions instead of looking only at the lowest advertised price.

Range is another important consideration. The Subaru Uncharted offers more than 300 miles of driving range, according to the provided research. That could make the Subaru particularly compelling for drivers who prioritize long-distance efficiency and maximum driving range over standard AWD.

2027 Toyota C-HR vs. Subaru Uncharted: What Buyers Should Consider

The relationship between these two electric crossovers makes the comparison especially useful.

Feature 2027 Toyota C-HR Subaru Uncharted
Powertrain Dual-motor electric Related EV powertrain
Power 338 hp Varies by configuration
Standard AWD Yes No; base model is FWD
Battery 74.7 kWh Related EV architecture
Starting price About $2,085 above base Uncharted $34,995
Maximum stated range Not specified in the provided research More than 300 miles

The table highlights an important lesson for EV buyers: the cheapest vehicle is not always the best value.

If standard AWD is a priority, the Toyota’s higher entry price may be easier to justify. If maximum range and a lower purchase price are more important, the Subaru deserves serious consideration.

Cargo Space Makes the C-HR More Practical Than Its Size Suggests

Performance and charging technology are only part of the compact SUV equation. Buyers also need enough room for everyday life.

Toyota says the C-HR can provide up to 59.5 cubic feet of cargo space with the rear seats folded.

That figure gives the C-HR a practical advantage for buyers who occasionally need to transport larger items. It also reinforces the vehicle’s position as a crossover rather than a small city EV designed solely around commuting.

For example, a buyer might use the C-HR during the week for commuting and grocery runs, then fold the rear seats on weekends to carry luggage, sporting equipment or larger purchases.

Of course, maximum cargo volume is not the same as usable cargo space with all seats occupied. Families should still evaluate rear-seat comfort and the shape of the cargo area before making a purchase.

Toyota Safety Sense 3.0 Comes Standard

Safety technology is another area where the entry-level C-HR does not require buyers to move to the premium trim for access to Toyota’s core safety package.

Toyota Safety Sense 3.0 is standard on the SE. That gives buyers access to Toyota’s latest-generation suite of active safety and driver-assistance technologies included with the vehicle.

The XSE goes further by adding features such as Traffic Jam Assist and Lane Change Assist, as well as a Panoramic View Monitor.

This distinction is useful when evaluating the trims. The SE focuses on providing a strong standard equipment package, while the XSE expands the vehicle’s convenience and driver-assistance capabilities.

Who Should Consider the 2027 Toyota C-HR?

The C-HR is not necessarily the ideal EV for every buyer. Its strongest appeal comes from a specific combination of characteristics.

It makes sense for AWD-focused buyers

If you want a compact electric SUV with all-wheel drive without automatically moving into a larger vehicle, the C-HR deserves attention.

It makes sense for performance-minded commuters

With 338 horsepower and a claimed 4.9-second 0-to-60-mph time, the C-HR has enough performance to make everyday driving more engaging.

It makes sense for technology-focused buyers

The 14-inch touchscreen, wireless smartphone integration, wireless charging and USB-C connectivity give the C-HR a modern technology package.

It may not be ideal for range-first shoppers

If maximum driving range is your primary concern, the Subaru Uncharted’s stated range of more than 300 miles deserves attention. The provided Toyota research does not specify a 2027 C-HR EPA range figure, so buyers should verify the official EPA rating before making a final decision based on range.

What Buyers Should Check Before Ordering

Because the 2027 Toyota C-HR is largely unchanged, buyers can focus on a relatively short list of important questions.

  1. Do you need standard AWD? If yes, the Toyota has a clear advantage over the base Subaru.
  2. How much range do you need? Daily commuters and road-trip drivers may have very different requirements.
  3. Is the SE equipment sufficient? If you do not need the XSE’s premium features, the lower trim may offer better value.
  4. How often will you fast-charge? Frequent road trippers should consider charging infrastructure and real-world charging conditions.
  5. Does the price gap justify the Toyota? Compare similarly equipped C-HR and Uncharted models rather than only their base MSRPs.

2027 Toyota C-HR: The Bigger Picture

Toyota’s decision to leave the C-HR largely unchanged for 2027 tells us something about the vehicle’s role in the company’s growing EV lineup.

The C-HR sits below the bZ Woodland and remains the second-most affordable Toyota electric vehicle after the standard bZ. That places it in an important position for buyers who want an EV without moving into a larger, more expensive SUV.

At the same time, the model demonstrates Toyota’s strategy of using different electric vehicles to address different parts of the market. The C-HR emphasizes compact dimensions, strong performance and standard AWD, while related vehicles can target buyers with different priorities.

The close sales results between the C-HR and Uncharted also show why this segment deserves attention. During the first half of 2026, Toyota sold 3,748 C-HR battery-electric vehicles in the United States, compared with 2,436 Subaru Uncharted models.

Those numbers are relatively close, and they suggest that both vehicles are competing for a similar group of American EV shoppers.

Should You Buy the 2027 Toyota C-HR?

The answer depends heavily on what you value most.

If your priorities are standard all-wheel drive, quick acceleration, a well-equipped cabin and compact SUV dimensions, the 2027 Toyota C-HR has a compelling combination. Its 338-hp dual-motor powertrain gives it performance that exceeds what many buyers might expect from a compact crossover.

The SE is particularly interesting because Toyota includes AWD and the same basic powertrain without requiring buyers to select the XSE. That makes the entry model more than simply a way to advertise a lower price.

The XSE becomes the better fit for shoppers who want a more upscale experience and additional technology.

However, the Subaru Uncharted makes the purchase decision more difficult. Its lower starting price and more than 300 miles of stated range give it a strong argument, particularly for buyers who do not need AWD.

Ultimately, the 2027 Toyota C-HR is best viewed as a performance-oriented compact EV with standard AWD rather than simply another affordable electric crossover. Toyota has not radically changed the formula for 2027, but the existing formula remains relevant in a rapidly expanding electric market.

Key Takeaways About the 2027 Toyota C-HR

  • The 2027 Toyota C-HR carries over most of its specifications from the previous model year.
  • It is offered exclusively as a fully electric compact SUV in the U.S.
  • SE and XSE remain the two available trims.
  • A dual-motor powertrain produces 338 horsepower.
  • All-wheel drive is standard on every C-HR.
  • Toyota claims a 4.9-second 0-to-60-mph time.
  • The vehicle uses a 74.7-kWh battery pack.
  • DC fast charging can take the battery from 10% to 80% in about 30 minutes under ideal conditions.
  • NACS charging is standard.
  • The SE includes a 14-inch touchscreen and Toyota Safety Sense 3.0.
  • The XSE adds premium seating, larger wheels and additional driver-assistance features.
  • Cargo capacity reaches up to 59.5 cubic feet with the rear seats folded.
  • The Subaru Uncharted starts about $2,085 below the entry-level Toyota but does not provide standard AWD on its base model.

Frequently Asked Questions About the 2027 Toyota C-HR

Is the 2027 Toyota C-HR fully electric?

Yes. The U.S.-market 2027 Toyota C-HR is offered exclusively as a fully electric compact SUV. It uses a dual-motor electric powertrain and standard all-wheel drive.

How much horsepower does the 2027 Toyota C-HR have?

The 2027 Toyota C-HR produces 338 horsepower from its dual-motor electric powertrain.

Does every 2027 Toyota C-HR have AWD?

Yes. All-wheel drive is standard across the 2027 Toyota C-HR lineup, including both the SE and XSE trims.

How fast is the 2027 Toyota C-HR?

Toyota says the electric C-HR can accelerate from 0 to 60 mph in 4.9 seconds, making it a notably quick compact electric SUV.

What battery does the 2027 Toyota C-HR use?

The 2027 Toyota C-HR continues with a 74.7-kWh battery pack.

How long does it take to fast-charge the C-HR?

Toyota says DC fast charging can replenish the battery from 10% to 80% in about 30 minutes under ideal conditions. Actual charging time can vary based on battery temperature, charger capability and other conditions.

Does the 2027 Toyota C-HR use NACS?

Yes. NACS charging is included as standard on the 2027 Toyota C-HR.

What are the 2027 Toyota C-HR trim levels?

The 2027 Toyota C-HR is offered in two trims: SE and XSE. Both use the same basic 338-hp dual-motor powertrain and standard AWD.

How much cargo space does the C-HR have?

Toyota says the C-HR offers up to 59.5 cubic feet of cargo space with the rear seats folded.

Is the Subaru Uncharted cheaper than the Toyota C-HR?

Yes. The base Subaru Uncharted Premium FWD starts at $34,995, which is about $2,085 less than the entry-level Toyota C-HR according to the provided research. However, the base Subaru uses front-wheel drive, while AWD is standard on every C-HR.

When will the 2027 Toyota C-HR arrive at U.S. dealerships?

The 2027 Toyota C-HR is scheduled to arrive at U.S. dealerships in September.

Final Verdict

The 2027 Toyota C-HR does not attempt to reinvent itself for the new model year. Instead, Toyota is sticking with a formula built around strong electric performance, standard AWD, useful technology and a straightforward two-trim lineup.

For buyers who want a compact EV with 338 horsepower and standard all-wheel drive, that formula makes the C-HR an interesting choice. The Subaru Uncharted remains the key alternative, particularly for shoppers seeking a lower starting price or more than 300 miles of range.

The smartest approach is therefore not to ask which vehicle is universally better. Instead, buyers should determine whether standard AWD and the C-HR’s performance justify its higher entry price. For many shoppers, that will be the deciding factor.

Looking for a rental car near you? Whether you need a vehicle for a weekend trip, business travel, a family vacation, or everyday transportation, you can easily explore available rental car options in your area.

Ready to find a rental car near you? Rental Cars Near Me and check the latest available offers.

Follow the latest updates through Latest Automotive News.

About the Author

Jason Cooper Avatar